‘Here For Years’

Following on from my last post, I thought it would be a good idea to use my collection of ghost gear in the location I found it. Previously I had been bringing the litter back to the studio, which is useful if you need to be out of the elements, but the context has been removed. I returned to Hell’s Mouth the next morning with my ropes, nets and lines to make a short video. Here’s what I did…

      Here For Years from Tazmyn Rowley on Vimeo.

I think I learnt a few things from the beach visit, mainly that I should have borrowed a better camera and used better quality sound for recording. I filmed myself doing the “600” with my GoPro which has no screen so I don’t really know whether I have it positioned correctly. Seeing the surfers there at that time of day was great, their little silhouettes looked like they were having fun, despite the cold!

rope1.jpg

I wasn’t entirely happy with the first “600” as it was sloping upwards, so I changed it around a bit and took a few photos. I really like some of the campaign images that are out there, so I wanted to try and make my own. I’m not sure whether it is very impactful, but hopefully it informs people on the issue either way. It would be tricky to get an aerial shot of anything huge on the beach, but if you could collect enough ropes etc. I think something on a larger scale would work very well.

Leave a Reply

