Making a Hydrophone

My first goal for my final year was something that I failed to do last year, simply due to other distractions and taking part in Erasmus. I wanted to make a hydrophone from scratch. A hydrophone uses a piezo transducer to convert electrical charges into energy. By being inside a water-tight container, it allows you to record underwater. I had a set of instructions on the materials I would need and how to construct it. I kindly had some audio cable donated to me last year by my tutor so I could tick that off already.

Here is a short vid of what I got up to (with a little help from my Dad!)

Making a Hydrophone from Tazmyn Rowley on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

